Commonwealth of Australia
flag_aust_1.gif (18586 bytes)
Australia is the world's smallest continent but sixth-largest country. It's population of 20,434,176 (2007 est.) is concentrated along the eastern and southeastern coasts; the invigorating sea breeze known as the "Fremantle Doctor" affects the city of Perth on the west coast, and is one of the most consistent winds in the world. Australia is divided into three time zones
locationmap.jpg (15802 bytes)

Canberra is the capital city of the Commonwealth of Australia. With a population of over 332,000, it is Australia's largest inland city. The site of Canberra was selected for the location of the nation's capital in 1908 as a compromise between Sydney and Melbourne, the two largest cities. The city's design was heavily influenced by the garden city movement and incorporates significant areas of natural vegetation that have earned Canberra the title "bush capital".
As the seat of the government of Australia, Canberra is the site of Parliament House, the High Court of Australia and numerous government departments and agencies. The federal government contributes the largest percentage of Gross State Product and is the largest single employer in Canberra

The Floriade flower festival attracts many tourists each spring

floriade.jpg (23864 bytes)

Australia is comprised of several States and Territories.  These include:

Aust. State Name: Details: Photo:

Click any radio button on the left to see more details and the photo of the place.
beigeaboutus.gif (1468 bytes)beigemales.gif (1456 bytes)beigefemales.gif (1477 bytes)beigelinks.gif (1446 bytes)
beigestandard.gif (1468 bytes)beigehistory.gif (1475 bytes)beigelitters.gif (1457 bytes)beigepuppies.gif (1486 bytes)
beigehome.gif (1443 bytes)